The earthen fortress was established in 1793-94 years by the general Alexander Suvorov, after the destruction of the turkish fortress Hadzhibey. In 1807, next to the fortress the Quarantine with a long wall and two towers were built. The other two walls were lowering down to the Quarantine harbor. The Fortress had existed for less than 20 years and was abandoned in 1811 due to being "incapable of defense" and transformed to the Quarantine. Now, on the territory of the former Suvorov Fortress, in the Shevchenko Park there is the "Chernomorets" stadium. There is the part of an arcade at the Quarantine's wall, the Gunpowder Tower, adjacent to the wall, The Dead Tower located apart (used to be a morgue) and St. Andrew's bastion fortress of Odesa, where the Alexander Column (1891) was later established. The Arcade presents a picturesque panorama of the seaport.
Odessa region, 1 Marazliyivska St, Odesa
46.482555 | 30.754493